Tuesday, January 31, 2012

BkRv :: The only thing that trumps ZOMBIES is an AWESOMESAUCE fantasy!

BOOK REVIEW :: 
Touch Of Power
Maria V. Snyder - @NONE-FOUND




YA | Fantasy | Series Book 1

FIRST LINE :: The little girl wouldn’t stop crying. I didn’t blame her. She was dying after all.

 








SUMMARY :: from the author website
Laying hands upon the injured and dying, Avry of Kazan assumes their wounds and diseases into herself. But rather than being honored for her skills, she is hunted. Healers like Avry are accused of spreading the plague that has decimated the Territories, leaving the survivors in a state of chaos.

Stressed and tired from hiding, Avry is abducted by a band of rogues who, shockingly, value her gift above the golden bounty offered for her capture.

Their leader, an enigmatic captor-protector with powers of his own, is unequivocal in his demands: Avry must heal a plague-stricken prince—leader of a campaign against her people.

As they traverse the daunting Nine Mountains, beset by mercenaries and magical dangers, Avry must decide who is worth healing and what is worth dying for. Because the price of peace may well be her life....
REVIEW ::
Hi, I am the(EPIC)rat, and I have a fantasy problem. I read Touch Of Power a while back, and it has tipped me into a full-blown addiction for fantasy of a similar ilk. Since I am unable to find anything that matches that sort of fantastic and romantic and sarcastic, I am undergoing some serious withdrawal until I find the next fantasy fix!

THE GOOD BITS
{Fans of Sharon Shinn: READ THIS} I love me some Sharon Shinn and totally fell in love with Troubled Waters! I did not think another author could reach that level of awesome, but Maria V. Snyder has nailed it with Touch Of Power. It reminded me of Mystic And Rider with a group of characters traveling to reach a certain destination. As I begin to dip my toes more often in the fantasy pool, I realize that there are some similar elements that float from one book to the next: a widespread plague that also targets the royal family, forbidden magic, an underdog who holds all the answers, etc. They may all start blending together, but Maria V. Snyder wove the story into something that felt all brand new and exciting.

{Group dynamics} I have never met a more enjoyable group of characters! They were funny, heroic, and downright temperamental when the scene called for it. Sparks especially flew for Avry and the leader Kerrick as they exasperated each other every step of the way, and I ate every bit of it up!

{Strong female lead} Avry kicks some serious ass! She may not ace the test on stealth and steel, but she can keep her wits about in the face of danger. None of this fainting and wimpering for this girl! No, ma’am. Quick on her feet, quicker to think and learn, and quickest to do the right thing, I think Avry may give Alanna a good run for her money. What really sealed the deal for me is that, underneath all that tough exteriour, Avry has a wicked sense of humor :)

THE BAD BITS
{The cover} I wish the US cover looked less girly and went more along the lines of the UK one. I think the cover does the story a disservice because it makes Avry seem all rainbows and starshine, but she is actually full of throwing knives and healing powers.

{Left me sad and lonely} I wish this story could have went on longer – and I am not sure how soon Touch Of Power will turn into a series. Answer: NOT SOON ENOUGH.

THE OVERALL
Seriously? GO READ THIS BOOK NOW for the love of all things fantasy. I have not been THIS enthusiastic about a fantasy book since Troubled Waters, and I admit that I can be a hard egg to crack! Fans of Sharon Shinn and Tamora Pierce who are searching for a new “it” fantasy to stalk, be prepared to eat this book up and ask for seconds.

DISCLAIMER :: NETGALLEY :: eARC
RELEASED DECEMBER 2011 BY MIRA (HARLEQUIN)
OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES :: TBA

11 comments:

  1. Touch of Power does sound like a pretty epic fantasy read. I may have to give this a author a shot. =)

    Thanks for the great review.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. If you like fantasy, then this one should fit right into your reading pile! :) This book makes me definitely want to start her Study series ASAP!

      Delete
  2. Wow after your review I'm even more excited to buy this book! And I agree about the cover. It's a little weird.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes! The only thing that stops me from rushing to the store is the cover - and knowing how much better the UK cover is! But the story is CLASSIC!

      Delete
  3. Wow, that's such high praise. I've never tried ay of Maria's books before but you make me want to do it right away!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I read her Outside In/Inside Out dystopia which is way different feel than Touch Of Power, and I did not fall head over heels about. If this is how her fantasies run, then I am glad that I decided to try it!

      Delete
  4. I love this book!! I will confess I bought the UK version because I dislike the US cover.
    You really should read the Study trilogy as well, it's really good especially the first book (Poison Study)
    I also read the first two books of the Glass trilogy (it follows the Study trilogy) but those weren't as good as the Study trilogy and Touch of Power

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I keep looking at the UK cover with such longing, and I will probably cave soon and seize my own copy :) I have the Study trilogy on my Nook, but I haven't gotten around to reading it. I think I was worried that I wouldn't like it, but after finishing Touch Of Power, I am MORE THAN EXCITED to start :)

      Delete
  5. Thank goodness I have the UK edition; I could not deal with the hideous cover of the UK edition that I went out of my way to get the UK edition.

    As I have never read Sharon Shinn's novels, but adored Touch of Power, I will checking out some of her books. There's one coming out this year, right?

    Touch of Power reminded me a lot of Poison Study, which may be why I enjoyed it so much. Still, Touch of Power was quite good on its own, but like you, I'm freaking can't wait for the sequel to come out!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love Sharon Shinn - I think she is my kryptonite! There is one coming out this year, but I seriously LOVED Troubled Waters that came out either last year or the year before that. I will have to start Poison Study because I am jonesing for another fantasy!

      Delete
  6. the cover detert 4 quite a while
    i can't freaking wait 4 this

    don't 4get your awesome

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for coming by The EPIC/rat! All comments are welcome unless you are a spambot. Otherwise, comment away!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...